drink recipes
 
Welcome to Good Bar Drinks
              Drink Recipes, Games, DUI info, and more...
You Must be Over 18 to Browse This Site-Disable pop-up blocker for best viewing

State by state DUI limits 
police_in_rearview_mirror_lg_clr.gif

 

DUI/DWI laws

DUI/DWI laws

April 2011


All 50 states and the District of Columbia have per se laws defining it as a crime to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above a proscribed level, currently 0.08 percent (0.08 g alcohol per 100 ml blood).

License suspension or revocation traditionally follows conviction for alcohol-impaired driving.  Under a procedure called administrative license suspension, licenses are taken before conviction when a driver fails or refuses to take a chemical test.  Because administrative license suspension laws are independent of criminal procedures and are invoked right after arrest, they've been found to be more effective than traditional post-conviction sanctions.  Administrative license suspension laws are in place in 41 states and the District of Columbia.

More than half of all U.S. states require DUI offenders to install ignition interlocks on their vehicles in order to drive during a license suspension and/or require interlocks for specified time periods before fully relicensing offenders. These interlock devices analyze a driver’s breath and disable the ignition if the driver has been drinking. In 13 states (Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Utah, and Washington), such a restriction is applied to all offenders, including first time offenders. California applies a similar restriction to all offenders, but only in 4 counties. An additional 9 states apply the restriction to all offenders with high BACs (usually 0.15 percent or higher) and to repeat offenders, and 6 states apply the restriction only to repeat offenders.

Laws in the remaining states do not require interlocks at all, though courts or DMVs in 18 states and the District of Columbia have the discretion to apply interlock requirements. Only 3 states (Alabama, South Dakota, and Vermont) have no interlock laws.


State Administrative license suspension 1st offense? Restore driving privileges during suspension? Are ignition interlocks mandatory under state law for the following offenses?
First offenders Repeat offenders
Alabama 90 days no no state interlock laws
Alaska 90 days after 30 days1 all offenders yes
Arizona 90 days after 30 days1 all offenders yes
Arkansas 6 months yes1 all offenders yes
California 4 months after 30 days1 all offenders (in 4 counties)2 no
Colorado 3 months yes1 all offenders yes
Connecticut 90 days yes1 no no
Delaware 3 months no no no
District of Columbia 2-90 days yes1 no no
Florida 6 months after 30 days1 high-BAC offenders only yes
Georgia 1 year yes1 no no
Hawaii 3 months after 30 days1 all offenders yes
Idaho 90 days after 30 days1 no no
Illinois 3 months after 30 days1 all offenders yes
Indiana 180 days after 30 days1 no no
Iowa 180 days after 90 days1 no no
Kansas 30 days no high-BAC offenders only yes
Kentucky no not applicable no no
Louisiana 90 days after 30 days1 all offenders yes
Maine 90 days yes1 no no
Maryland 45 days yes1 no no
Massachusetts 90 days no no yes
Michigan no not applicable no no
Minnesota 90 days after 15 days1 no no
Mississippi 90 days no no no
Missouri 30 days no no yes
Montana no not applicable no yes
Nebraska 90 days after 30 days1 all offenders yes
Nevada 90 days after 45 days1 no no
New Hampshire 6 months no high-BAC offenders only yes
New Jersey no not applicable high-BAC offenders only yes
New Mexico 90 days after 30 days1 all offenders yes
New York variable3 yes1 all offenders yes
North Carolina 30 days after 10 days1 high-BAC offenders only yes
North Dakota 91 days after 30 days1 no no
Ohio 90 days after 15 days1 no no
Oklahoma 180 days yes1 no yes
Oregon 90 days after 30 days1 all offenders yes
Pennsylvania no not applicable no no
Rhode Island no not applicable no no
South Carolina no not applicable no yes
South Dakota no not applicable no state interlock laws
Tennessee no not applicable no no
Texas 90 days yes1 no yes
Utah 120 days no all offenders yes
Vermont 90 days no no state interlock laws
Virginia 7 days no high-BAC offenders only yes
Washington 90 days yes1 all offenders yes
West Virginia 6 months after 30 days 1 high-BAC offenders only yes
Wisconsin 6 months yes1 high-BAC offenders only yes
Wyoming 90 days yes1 high-BAC offenders only yes

1Drivers usually must demonstrate special hardship to justify restoring privileges during suspension, and then privileges often are restricted.

2First offender pilot program in 4 counties - Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare.

3In New York, administrative license suspension lasts until prosecution is complete.